Who is Bec?

 

Hi and welcome to Bec’s Books!

This is a blog about books. Books I’ve read, am reading and am keen to read.  It is also now home to the ‘one sentence review’. I’ll tell you the blurb, a bit about the author and links relating to the book and the author.  If I’ve read the book there will also be a one sentence review.  There could also be an excerpt, giveaway or author interview.  Happy reading! 🙂

I created this blog to help others who love reading books, blogging about books or writing books!  You can watch the short video above to see more about the blog if you like, but be warned, it’s my first effort! Otherwise take a look around the site and let me help you find your next book to read!

I wanted to introduce myself properly so I hope you can get a feel for why I started this blog. I only took 1 take of that video so I may have to add some more in the future! I might start adding some vlog’s to my entries as well!

I decided to make this site in early January 2013. My passion for reading was reignited just before Christmas. I started reading the Fifty Shades trilogy, then the Crossfire trilogy, and straight away Gabriel’s Inferno trilogy.  After those series I was hooked on reading again!  I want to read anything from romance to mystery, to thriller.  You’ll find it all on this page.

I also like to read a lot of other blogs and stay up to date with social media like twitter and facebook. So make sure you choose a way to keep in contact!

So a little bit about me. I’m from Canada originally but currently live in Melbourne, Australia.  I have always been very interested in the internet & keeping up to date with the new gadgets & innovations like social media. It all started back in 1995 when I first went ‘online’. I got an AOL floppy disk in the mail and had to try it out. I was 14 years old and I asked my dad if I could get a ‘modem’, which is what I apparently needed in order to use the disk I had been mailed. So we went to our local Future Shop and got a modem. I kept trying to connect but I couldn’t get it to work properly. A month or so later my parents got a phone bill and my modem had been trying to connect to a New York long distance phone number which is one of the reasons it hadn’t been working. Although getting the bill I guess it had been working to some degree!

Anyway, I abandoned that plan and it was a few months later in May when I got a Compuserve floppy disk in the mail. This time there was a local phone number my modem could dial! So officially I consider my first day online May 7th 1995. That was 2 days before my 15th birthday! I spent a lot of the next few months online especially the ‘CB’ chatrooms. I enjoyed CB13 which was the teenage chatroom although later I moved to CB17 the young adult chat room.

Nowadays, I work at a full time job in an office which I really enjoy.  To be honest, I really only want to read the best books so I look for the best and that’s why the entries on my blog are mainly 3+ stars.

I generally only give 5+ stars to a series, where single books will get normally maximum 4.5 stars just because they don’t get as involved. It’s similar to how I prefer to watch TV series as opposed to watching movies. Although I still watch movies I like watching season after season of a TV show that I enjoy.

So 30 other facts about me:

I was born on May 9th, 1980 in Ontario, Canada.

I’m a dual Canadian/Australian citizen but I have also lived in London, England and Berlin, Germany.

I speak like a Canadian but most people mistake it for American.

I moved to Whistler, British Columbia for a year when I was 20 to snowboard.

I moved to London, England when I was 22 and stayed for almost 4 years.

I moved to Melbourne, Australia when I was 26 and have visited Queensland a few times, New South Wales, Tasmania and the Northern Territory but want to visit the rest!

I love scuba diving, snowboarding, skiing (broke my leg doing it), roller skating, roller blading & waterskiing.

I have visited 13 of 50 US states including California, Nevada (favourite been to Vegas 10+ times), Hawaii, Florida, New York, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Ohio, Michigan, Idaho, Illinois & Rhode Island.

I have visited England (lived there for 4 years), Scotland, Germany, Belgium, Austria, Switzerland, Spain, Gibraltar, Italy, Egypt, South Africa, Singapore, Thailand and Australia (where I now live).

I love planning and organising holidays and I used to be an Executive Assistant so I am quite organised!

I have been shark cage diving in South Africa and loved it even though I was nervous for 2 days and it was freezing cold! I have a DVD to prove it!

I can’t sing but I was an extra in movies and TV shows as a teenager including ‘The Santa Clause’ & ‘Tommy Boy’.

I never have less than 5 active email accounts & I have active social media profiles in Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram & Google+.

I do a lot of ‘relaxing’ and don’t work out as much as I should although I do PT once a week, Pilates once a week and Yoga once a week.  I walk my dog about 4+ times a week but he just pulls me along so basically walks me!

I have eyelash extensions which I love. I also love manicures and pedicures and highlights in my hair.

I have a lot of piercings including my nose and a lot in my ears. They never close up so I can put them in and out as I please. I never wear them all at the same time.

I got my one and only tattoo when I was 19.

I love keeping up with current affairs. I read the national & local newspapers. I watch the morning shows and evening news. We recently cancelled our paper newspaper subscription and subscribe to the online version instead now.

I like pop and country music mainly although I will generally listen to anything.

My house is neat & tidy, but I’m not at all obsessive about cleaning.

I love Star Trek & Stargate. I have seen all the episodes in order for Star Trek: The Original Series & The Next Generation. I have also seen a lot of Deep Space Nine and Voyager although not all yet. I’ve also seen all episodes in order of Stargate and Stargate: Atlantis but haven’t seen the newer Stargate yet.

I also love Bones, Spooks, Eureka, X-Files, Alias, Sanctuary, Girls, Celebrity Apprentice and other reality shows like Keeping Up with the Kardashians.

My husband and I cook better Thai, Indian & Italian than any takeaways we’ve ever tried.

I loved school and I stayed until I was 24. I took a lot of courses and I ended up with a Bachelor of Arts and a Post Graduate Diploma in Management Studies.

I once did 100 beer shots in 100 minutes which makes me a ‘centurion’.

I probably know the names and faces of at least 3000+ people due to working in a gym and having their name pop up when they scan in and having to great them. After they scan in a few times I won’t forget them!

I am not shocked by much since I’ve seen a lot of the years & I am pretty easygoing.

I much prefer hot to cold weather.

I love the beach and swimming! Our house is about a 5 minute walk from a fantastic beach and with the Melbourne summer we can swim for at least 4+ months of the year. I also float in any type of water!

I can fix most IT problems if I’m encountered with them and can read code but I’m not that great at writing it! I used to use Joomla and html to make my websites, but now I used wordpress..

If I can think of anything else interesting I’ll add it to this list! 🙂